Hi Katherine,

My food investigation is in full swing and the next stop on our adventure is inspired by one of our favourite books, “A Moveable Feast” by Ernest Hemingway. To help in my search, I found a great link that outlines Hemingway’s Paris with all his favourite haunts. http://www.frugalfun.com/hemingwayparis.html

The good news: most of the places that he frequented are still in business. The bad news: most, if not all, are terrible tourist traps (overpriced and sub standard food). All but one… I present Closerie des lilas in Montparnasse. Open since 1847, it was a favourite hang out for Hemingway and James Joyce. Another big draw is that it is right across from Jardin du Luxembourg. I think a definite stop is in order not only for a poke around but for a plate of oysters and a glass of bubbly.
Love, Sammy
P.S. Agreed about the Eiffel Tower. Not interested in waiting in line to get to the top and not see what I came to Paris to see. Yes, I am a geek.